Evers nominates eight public schools for national Blue Ribbon award

From the Department of Public Instruction

State Superintendent Tony Evers nominated eight public schools for the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, which recognizes overall academic excellence or progress in improving student achievement.

The nominees are:

  • Endeavor Elementary School, Portage Community School District;
  • Howard Elementary School, Green Bay, Howard-Suamico School District;
  • Lake Shore Middle School, Mequon-Thiensville School District;
  • Magee Elementary School, Two Rivers Public School District;
  • Onalaska High School, Onalaska School District;
  • Platteville Middle School, Platteville School District;
  • Sevastopol High School, Sturgeon Bay, Sevastopol School District; and
  • Washburn High School, Washburn School District.

“The students, educators, families, and communities that make up the schools nominated for this recognition program consistently strive for and work hard to attain exemplary achievement,” Evers said. “This commitment is foundational to student success in their schools.”

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program has recognized more than 7,500 of America’s schools since it began in 1982. Selection criteria for this year’s program require that schools have at least 100 students and be open for at least five years. Additionally, schools must have met annual measurable objectives for the 2012-13 and 2013-14 school years.

Schools nominated to the program must complete the Blue Ribbon Schools application and undergo the national review process. Awards, presented to “Exemplary High Performing” and “Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing” schools, are typically announced in early September.